Skip to content

How to Stay Married for a Long, Long time.

August 7, 2012

How to stay married for a long, long, time.  I try to keep my post at 300 to 500 words so that you will come back and read again so,  this subject might take several.

This past week Felicia and I celebrated our thirty-third wedding anniversary. Yes we married young. She was seventeen and about to begin her senior year in High School (and yes she did graduate) and I was nineteen. Two things I want you to know about us getting married so young. Number one, there was no baby on the way. We were married in August of 1979 and our first child was born in November of 1981. Just thought I’d clear the air. Number two; we do not recommend that people marry that young.

Now thirty-three years later I look back on our life together to this point and realize that us staying married was not just luck. So I thought I’d share with you over the next few post some tidbits that we have learned and some of the experiences that we have had along the way and how we handled them or didn’t handle them.

In August of 1979 when we first married so many people told us the same thing; “If you make it through the first year you’ll be ok.” “What did they mean by that”? “Was the first year going to be hard or something”? Questions I asked. How could it be hard? After all we were in love. We couldn’t stand being away from each other. The thought that we would be able to be together all of the time in our own house was just too much to resist.

We had been dating for a couple of years when we married. Our dating life was bliss. I knew I was going to have the most submissive wife in the world because during two years of dating Felicia never challenged or disagreed with me about anything. Not one time!

For years I’ve referred to dating as, “The Big Lie.” It’s the big lie because most people including me put their best foot forward when they are dating and try their best not to show their down sides and we all have them.

The bliss of our dating life crossed over into our married life for about one week and then it began.

I’m going to stop here for this particular post but let me assure you that thirty-three years later we are very happily married with three grown children and a brand new grandson.

What are some of your ideas about how to stay married a long time? Or what are some experiences that you have had that might be helpful to others?

PLEASE READ ADDITIONAL STUFF BELOW!

HELP!  I am trying very hard to build my blog base and you can help and I am asking for your help.

1.  Please follow my blog. If you have not done do already please do. There are two ways to do it. One is the RSS feed. If you don’t understand RSS then you would be better off using the second option which is email subscription. I understand that everyone get’s more email than they want and most of it is junk. The only time you will get an email from me will be when I submit a new post.  To do an email subscription simply enter your email address in the subscription field in the right hand column.  I will be very appreciative.

2. If you read something at jeffscurlock.com that you think others might enjoy please share it on your social media. As far as I know the only way you can do that right now is by copying the URL from my site and pasting it on your Facebook or other social media status update. This would help me immensely.  You can also help me by suggesting to people that they follow my blog and at the very least enter http://www.jeffscurlock.com into your status.

3. If you read something that interest you at my site or you have an opinion (even if it’s different than mine), please post a response at this site below by clicking on the comment icon. It’s nice when you comment on Facebook or like my link on Facebook but it would be beneficial to me if you would comment here and even become a regular commenter. You will not do it too much and I will approve your comments even if they differ in opinion. The only thing that I ask is that you keep it clean.

4. Follow me on twitter. If you have a twitter account just search for @jeffscurlock and then hit follow. If you don’t have a twitter account you might consider opening one (it’s free) and following me. You can go directly to by Twitter page by clicking the Twitter icon at the top of this page.  It would also be helpful if you would suggest to your friends that they follow me.

5. Lastly but actually first, pray for me.

The reason that I’m asking you for this help is because I’m trying to increase the platform for my writing such as my recent book The Eye of A Needle and future things that I plan to write. In today’s writing economy publishers look seriously at things such as social media followers, blog followers and blog comments.

Thank You!!!

Click here to look at my book The Eye of A Needle, Kindle Edition.

Click here to look at my book The Eye of A Needle, Paperback.

2 Comments
  1. Okay. Loved the title. Content is too long. Sharpen it up and you’ve got a winner. I’ll be watching you grow.

  2. jeffscurlock permalink

    Ms. Nine, thanks for stopping by, for reading and for your comment.

Leave a comment